Daily Archives: January 25th, 2012

Reminiscing

For today’s post, I would like to share my experience and happy moments with you when me and fiance got engaged. We are now 3 months plus until akad nikah and it is appropriate that I share our early moments especially after I just sprawl into the blog world with just 4 months to spare. hehe.

***********************************************************

The idea of getting engaged came after I graduated and after we overcame a difficult moment in our life. Alhamdulillah, we stayed strong and we just instantly said that 2009 was our year. Our year to start over, our year to change, our year to grow up. Best year ever! hehe.

I specifically remember the moment when dear fiance came to my house. Me and the siblings were out to watch a movie, it was after my graduation that morning, kira us celebrate lah tu. I mentioned to him that my parents is at home & he took that chance to come and menyampaikan hajatnya. 🙂 After the movies, I met with my parents. No, they didn’t say anything..my dad was actually ‘berpantun’ saying someone wants to mendirikan masjid or mendirikan tiang drumah is it? haha..I can’t remember. I was confused because fiance didn’t say anything, parents also didn’t say anything. just clues and riddles. At last, of course I knew… 😛

Berjarum-jarum

We made plans for both of our families to meet to discuss about the engagement. I was actually nervous, we had a date set in mind and I told the fiance to remind his parents about the date and so on. Of course, I was advised to not go downstairs..but little old me tried to listen from upstairs. I can’t really hear what they were saying. hehe. I was anxious for it to be over so that I know the outcome of it. Lastly, me and parents had the talk and we discussed about the possible date. (nope, our date wasn’t approved).

The Engagement Day

🙂 I remember sleeping very nervously that night, trying to remember and do the ‘to-do list’ in my head for tomorrow’s event. I woke up, nervously as I was..I became very active and that I helped with basically everything, until my maid said..i’m supposed to be relaxing not helping around. I was nervous! I can’t just relax. huhu. I ate lunch outside that day and run some errands to complete the check list..I had to ask my MUA to come a little bit late cause I was still buying stuff.

My best friend came early and I’m glad she did, I was a total wreck – going here and there. At last, my MUA came and we started on the makeup. More friends came and they stayed with me in my room.

I heard a knock and my sister came to inform me that fiance’s family had arrived. Me and my best friend looked at each other with that ‘Oh My God’ look. lol. I love the moment when I walked from my room to go downstairs to the living room. All of my friends were right behind me. My amit was holding my hand, asking me not to ‘melirik-lirik’ and senyum2. hehe. When I came to the living room, my first reaction was “banyak ye orang…” My way of toning down the nerves is by looking at all the people who came..like scanning from left to right, so that I can adapt to the situation. I actually forgot if I did that since I wasn’t allowed to do that. I think I just looked down.

Like usual, I sat in the middle and guest were surrounding me. I just sat at a pillow, one cousin even thought I was getting married. Fiance’s mom came to me and the ‘menyarungkan cincin’ occured. It was quick, I don’t know..maybe in my head I imagined the moment in slow motion. 😛 After that, I have to salam everyone. Ohh..and at that moment barutah I realized on how many people came that day. Macam biasa, taking pictures with everyone. Lastly, fiance came and we were like..”alhamdulillah, we’re engaged now!” 🙂 🙂 🙂

**********************************************************

It was 2 years plus ago and to be honest, time flies so fast. I know people always said that bertunang banyak dugaan and rintangan..alhamdulillah, our love stays strong and we are now fully ready to make that big step towards marriage. So far, I love preparing for our wedding…and right now, I can’t wait to be his wife. 🙂

In sya Allah, moga perhubungan dan jodoh kami diberkati Allah SWT and berpanjangan hingga ke jannah. 🙂 🙂 🙂 Amin yarabbal alamin.

Thanks for reading. Goodnight. Assalamualaikum.